Labor History Dissertation Prize

David Montgomery Award

The deadline for the 2018 award has passed. Information on the 2019 award will be available summer 2018.


The David Montgomery Award is given annually by the OAH with co-sponsorship by the Labor and Working-Class History Association (LAWCHA) for the best book on a topic in American labor and working-class history. Eligible works shall be written in English and deal with United States history in significant ways but may include comparative or transnational studies that fall within these guidelines. The award is given in recognition of David Montgomery’s crucial role in pioneering new approaches to the study of working people and their history. David Montgomery was president of the OAH 1999-2000.

Each entry must be published during the period January 1, 2017 through December 31, 2017.

The award will be presented at the 2018 OAH Annual Meeting in Sacramento, California, April 12–14.

Submission Procedures

One copy of each entry, clearly labeled “2018 David Montgomery Award Entry,” must be mailed directly to the committee members listed below. Each committee member must receive all submissions postmarked by October 2, 2017.

Bound page proofs may be used for books to be published after October 2, 2017 and before January 1, 2018. If a bound page proof is submitted, a bound copy of the book must be received by each committee member and postmarked no later than January 8, 2018. (Please see “Submission Policy” at right.)

If a book carries a copyright date that is different from the publication date, but the actual publication date falls during the correct timeframe making it eligible, please include a letter of explanation from the publisher with each copy of the book sent to the committee members.

The final decision will be made by the David Montgomery Award Committee by February 2018. The winner will be provided with details regarding the OAH Annual Meeting and awards presentation.

David Montgomery Award Committee

Elizabeth Faue (Committee Chair)
Wayne State University
Department of History
3094 Faculty Administration Building
Wayne State University
Detroit MI 48202

Michael D. Innis-Jiménez
University of Alabama
Department of American Studies
Box 870214
101 ten Hoor Hall
350 Marrs Spring Rd
Tuscaloosa AL 35487

Lara Putnam
University of Pittsburgh
Department of History
Posvar 3708
Pittsburgh PA 15260


List of Past Winners

The World History Association awards the annual WHA Dissertation Prize for the best doctoral dissertation in world, global, or transnational history—that is, one that examines any historical issue with global implications, including but not limited to the exchange and interchange of cultures, the comparison of two or more civilizations or cultures, or the study in a macrohistorical manner of a phenomenon that had a global impact. To be eligible for the 2017 prize, the dissertation must have been defended as part of Ph.D. or equivalent degree between the dates of 31 August 2014 and 21 August 2017.

The prize, which consists of a $500 award, a certificate, and a one-year membership to the WHA, will be awarded at the WHA’s 2018 conference in Milwaukee if the awardee is in attendance.

The deadline for submission of entries for the 2017 prize has now passed. The submission period for the 2018 prize will open in August 2018.

The Dissertation Prize Committee, chaired by David Northrup, professor emeritus of history at Boston College, will determine the winner of the prize. In the event that the committee considers that the quality of the entries does not warrant the awarding of any prize, it shall have the right to make no award.

Contact the WHA with any questions regarding the prize or its guidelines.

Past Winners


  • Sara Silverstein: “Doctors as Diplomats: The Origins of Universal Healthcare in International Society”


  • Barry McCarron: “The Global Irish and Chinese: Migration, Exclusion, and Foreign Relations among Empires, 1784–1904”

Honorable mentions

  • Kathryn Hain: “The Slave Trade of European Women to the Middle East and Asia from Antiquity to the Ninth Century”
  • Isaiah Wilner: “Raven Cried for Me: Narratives of Transformation on the Northwest Coast of America”


  • Patrick Kelly: “Sovereignty and Salvation: Transnational Human Rights Activism in the Americas in the Long 1970s”

Honorable mention

  • Phillip Guingona: “Crafted Links and Accidental Connections of Empire: A History of Early Twentieth-Century Sino-Philippine Interaction


  • Bryce Beemer: “The Creole City in Southeast Asia: Slave Gathering Warfare and Culture Exchange in Burma, Thailand, and Manipur, 1752–1885”
Categories: 1

0 Replies to “Labor History Dissertation Prize”

Leave a comment

L'indirizzo email non verrà pubblicato. I campi obbligatori sono contrassegnati *